Home > News > More

Society for Vytilla mobility hub set up

April 01 2010 7:23 AM

KOCHI: Vytilla Mobility Society with Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan as chairman and District Collector M. Beena as managing director came into being on Thursday. The Society would work for the execution of the proposed mobility hub.Ministers Paloli Mohammed Kutty, S. Sarma, Mullakkara Ratnakaran, T.M. Thomas Isaac, and Jose Thettayil, Mayor Mercy Williams, Chief Secretary Neela Gangadharan, GCDA Chairperson M.C. Josephine, Finance Secretary Ishita Roy, Transport Secretary T.K.. Manoj Kumar, Local body Secretary R.K. Singh, Public Works Secretary Tom Jose, Roads and Bridges Corporation managing director T.K. Jose also signed in the memorandum of association in this connection. The objectives of the Society clearly state that it aims at carrying out operations with the assistance of the State government for the betterment of road transport and urban transport development without the profit motive. The primary aim of the project is to set up a state-of-the-art mobility hub at Vytilla so as to avoid the entry of long distance buses to Kochi city, the commercial and trade hub, the roads of which are even otherwise teeming with vehicles. All activities required for the materialisation of this objective would be carried out as and when circumstances demanded it. The society would take repayable or non-repayable assistance from public and private initiatives, financial institutions, and government in the form of donations, grant or subsidy. The Minister for Local Self-government would be the vice-chairman of the society. The District Collector has been made the managing director as per an order issued on January 25 this year. The society would have 15 ex-officio members. The director board could decide the number of associate members. Members of the executive committee at the time of registration would also be its first members. Eight-member panel Besides, there would be an eight-member executive committee chaired by the Chief Secretary. The Managing Director of the society would be its secretary and Mayor, GCDA chairperson, Finance Secretary, Local Bodies secretary, Agriculture Secretary and Roads and Bridges Corporation managing director would be its members.